Cour Pénale Internationale



Assemblée des États Parties

> Assembly of States Parties

International Criminal Court

First ICC-ASP Bureau Meeting 19 January 2010 Agenda and Decisions

The President of the Assembly, H.E. Mr. Christian Wenaweser (Liechtenstein), chaired the meeting

1. Working Groups of the Bureau

(a) Facilitators

The Bureau appointed the following facilitators for the issues assigned to The Hague Working Group:

- i) Cooperation: Ambassador Mary Whelan (Ireland);
- ii) Strategic Plan: Ambassador Jean-Marc Hoscheit (Luxembourg), who would continue as facilitator;
- iii) Independent oversight mechanism: Mr. Vladimir Cvetković (Serbia); and
- iv) Trust Fund for Victims: Mr. Martin Strub (Switzerland), who would continue as facilitator.

The Bureau also appointed Costa Rica and Ireland to serve as focal points for the issue of Cooperation for the stocktaking exercise of the Review Conference.

(b) Calendar of work

The Bureau requested the Coordinators of its Working Groups, Vice-Presidents of the Assembly Ambassador Jorge Lomónaco (Mexico) and Ambassador Zachary Muburi-Muita (Kenya), to prepare a calendar of work for their respective Working Groups for 2010.

2. Review Conference

(a) Stocktaking

The facilitators for the Review Conference, Mr. Marcelo Böhlke (Brazil) and Ms. Stella Orina (Kenya), briefed the Bureau on the outcomes of the informal consultations held on 14 January 2010. They had submitted a paper on the stocktaking exercise for discussion within the New York Working Group and proposed to meet with the focal points to discuss how to proceed as well as to begin preparations for background documentation on the topics to be considered in the stocktaking exercise.

The facilitators indicated that consultations on all issues for the Review Conference would continue in the New York Working Group and that preliminary proposals from the focal points would be discussed at the next meeting of the Working Group, to be held on 9 February 2010.

The Bureau requested the focal points to conduct their consultations in an open and inclusive manner, preferably through plenary meetings as opposed to bilateral meetings. It also stressed the need to develop clear guidelines and timelines for the process and for the interaction between The Hague Working Group and the New York Working Group on the respective topics.

(b) List of issues to be addressed in preparation of the Review Conference

The Bureau agreed to be guided by the list of issues prepared by the Secretariat pursuant to resolution ICC-ASP/8/Res.6, so as to ensure a well-prepared Review Conference.

The President indicated that the high-level segment was likely to take place between 31 May and 1 June, when the United Nations Secretary-General was expected to attend the Conference and that more specific information would be conveyed to delegations shortly so as to facilitate their making the appropriate preparations.

3. Resumed eighth session

Provisional programme of work

The Bureau included in the provisional programme of work for the resumed eighth session an additional item entitled "Other Review Conference matters".

4. Ninth session

(a) Provisional agenda

The Bureau approved the draft provisional agenda for the ninth session of the Assembly.

(b) Nomination period for the election of six members of the Committee on Budget and Finance

The Bureau decided that the nomination period for the election of six members of the Committee on Budget and Finance, to be held during the ninth session of the Assembly, would run from 7 June to 30 August 2010 (Central European Time).

5. Other matters

Solemn undertaking of newly elected judges of the Court

The President informed the Bureau that the judges elected at the eighth session of the Assembly, Ms. Silvia Fernández de Gurmendi (Argentina) and Ms. Kuniko Ozaki (Japan), would make the solemn undertaking at the Court on 20 January 2009, in accordance with article 45 of the Rome Statute and, further, that the Assembly would be represented by Vice-President Jorge Lomónaco (Mexico).
