

Assemblée des États Parties

Assembly of States Parties

International Criminal Court

SECRETARIAT OF THE ASSEMBLY OF STATES PARTIES

BUREAU

First meeting

13 December 2011

Agenda and decisions

The President of the Assembly, Ambassador Tiina Intelmann (Estonia), chaired the meeting.

1. Review of the work programme

a) Composition of the new Bureau

The President indicated that the Bureau for the tenth to twelfth sessions had been elected at the first plenary meeting, on 12 December, as follows:

Ambassador Ken Kanda (Ghana) and Ambassador Markus Börlin (Switzerland) were elected as Vice-Presidents of the Assembly. Furthermore, the following States had been elected members of the Bureau:

- i) African group: Gabon, Ghana, Nigeria, South Africa, Uganda
- ii) Eastern European group: Czech Republic, Estonia, Hungary, Slovakia
- iii) Asia-Pacific group: Japan, the Republic of Korea, Samoa
- iv) Latin American and Caribbean States group: Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Trinidad and Tobago
- v) Western European and Other States group: Belgium, Canada, Finland, Portugal, Switzerland.

b) Committee on Budget and Finance nominations

The Bureau took note that consultations would continue within the African group with a view to identifying a consensus candidate for election to the Committee on Budget and Finance.

c) Selection of the Credentials Committee members

The Bureau agreed to recommend to the Assembly the election of Gabon to the Credentials Committee.

d) Updated work programme

The Bureau approved the revised work programme, dated 11 December 2011.

The Bureau agreed that the Prime Minister of Côte d'Ivoire would address the plenary meeting scheduled for the morning of 15 December 2011.

It was also suggested that informal consultations on cooperation be included in the work programme.

2. Election of the Rapporteur

The Bureau agreed to recommend the election of Ms. Alejandra Quezada (Chile) as the Rapporteur.

3. Oversight Committee membership

The Bureau requested Ambassador Markus Börlin (Switzerland) to conduct consultations to identify two members of the Oversight Committee to replace Mexico and Switzerland, who would not seek renewal of their mandates on the Committee. The members would be selected from the Group of Latin American and Caribbean States and the Western Europe and other States groups, respectively, and would serve for two-year terms, as of the date of their election during the tenth session.

4. Other matters

a) Statement by the President recognizing the work of the outgoing Prosecutor

The Bureau agreed that the President would, in her statement at the final plenary, make a statement recognizing the contribution of the first Prosecutor, Mr. Luis Moreno-Ocampo, during his tenure and expressing the expectation that there would be a seamless transition to the new Prosecutor.

b) Resumed tenth session

The President indicated the possible need for a resumed tenth session for the election of a Deputy Prosecutor or Deputy Prosecutors, which could be included in the omnibus resolution.

c) Next meeting of the Bureau

The next meeting of the Bureau will be held on 15 December.

* * *