

International Criminal Court Assembly of States
Parties

BUREAU OF THE ASSEMBLY OF STATES PARTIES

Seventh meeting

New York

4 December 2017

Agenda and decisions

The President of the Assembly, H.E. Mr. Sidiki Kaba, chaired the meeting.

1. Preparations for the sixteenth session of the Assembly

- a) Organization of work
 - (i) Appointment of chairpersons and coordinators

The Bureau recommended that the Assembly appoint the following chairpersons and coordinators:

- Ambassador May-Elin Stener (Norway) as Chair of the Working Group on Amendments
- Ambassador Per Holmström (Sweden), as Chair of the Working Group on the Programme Budget.
- Ms. Damaris Carnal (Switzerland) as Coordinator for the omnibus resolution.
- Ms. Nadia Kalb (Austria) as Coordinator for discussions on the activation of the Court's jurisdiction over the crime of aggression.
- b) Work programme

The Bureau approved the work programme for the sixteenth session, dated 1 December 2017.

c) Incoming Bureau

Regional consultations on the composition of the future Bureau

The Bureau decided to recommend that the Assembly elect the following members of the Bureau for the seventeenth to nineteenth sessions:

- African group: Cote d'Ivoire, Gambia, Ghana, Senegal and Uganda.
- Asia Pacific group¹: Japan and the State of Palestine.
- Eastern European group: Estonia, Serbia, Slovakia and Slovenia

¹ The Bureau took note of a seat-sharing arrangement agreed to by the three candidate States Parties, Bangladesh, Japan and the State of Palestine:

a) 15 December 2017 until the conclusion of the seventeenth session of the Assembly of States Parties: Japan and Palestine

b) The day after the conclusion of seventeenth session of the Assembly until the conclusion of the eighteenth session: Bangladesh and Japan

c) The day after the conclusion of eighteenth session until the conclusion of the nineteenth session: Bangladesh and Palestine.

• Western European and other States group: Australia, Austria, Denmark, France and the Netherlands.

As regards the Latin American and Caribbean group, the Bureau was informed that, following intensive consultations among States Parties, there had been no consensus among the five States seeking election to the four seats allocated to the group. GRULAC therefore requested that the Assembly elect the members of the group by secret ballot. The Bureau agreed to discuss the issue further at its next meeting.

The Bureau decided to recommend that the Assembly proceed with the election of the members of the future Bureau from the African, Asia-Pacific, Eastern European and western European and other States group and to defer the election of the Latin American and Caribbean group to a later date.

d) Rapporteur

The Bureau took note that Ms. Barbara Kremžar (Slovenia) would continue to serve as Rapporteur for the sixteenth session.

e) Nomination of national tellers

The Bureau decided to recommend the appointment of the following representatives as national tellers for the elections to be held during the sixteenth session:

- African group Ms. Leila H. Idrissa Tino (Niger)
- Asia-Pacific group Mr. Dominic Sofe (Samoa)
- Eastern European group Mr. Yavor Ivanov (Bulgaria)
- Latin American and Caribbean group Ms. Shara Duncan-Villalobos (Costa Rica)
- Western European and other States group- Ms. Helen Inga von Ernst (Iceland)

f) Credentials Committee

The Bureau decided to recommend the appointment of the following States as members of the Credentias Committee for the sixteenth session: Czech Republic, Chile, Costa Rica, Republic of Korea, Slovakia, Senegal, Sweden, Uganda and United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland.

g) Elections to the Committee on Budget and Finance

The Bureau was informed that, following consultations led by Ambassador Lee Yun Young (Republic of Korea), the three candidates seeking election to the two seats allocated to the Asia-Pacific group had agreed to a seat-sharing arrangement. The Bureau took note of the agreement among the States.

As the number of candidates corresponded to the number of seats to be filled, the Bureau decided to recommend that the Assembly, pursuant to resolution ICC-ASP/1/Res.5, dispense with the secret ballot and elect the following six candidates to the Committee on Budget and Finance for a three-year period commencing on 21 April 2018:

² 21 April 2018 - 20 April 2019: Mr. Hitoshi Kozaki (Japan) and Mr. Fawzi Gharaibeh (Jordan)

²¹ April 2019 - 20 April 2020: Mr. Hitoshi Kozaki (Japan) and Ms. Janet Braganza Abeul (Philippines)

²¹ April 2020 - 20 April 2021: Mr. Fawzi Gharaibeh (Jordan) and Ms. Janet Braganza Abeul (Philippines). .

- Ms. Ingrid Eiken Holmgren (Sweden)
- Mr. Fawzi Gharaibeh (Jordan)
- Mr. Hitoshi Kozaki (Japan)
- Ms. Mónica Sánchez (Ecuador)
- Ms. Margaret Wambui Ngugi Shava (Kenya)
- Ms. Elena Sopková (Slovakia)

2. Independent Oversight Mechanism

a) Papers submitted by the Head of the Independent Oversight Mechanism (IOM)

The Bureau took note of the following papers, dated 1 November 2017, which the Head of the Independent Oversight Mechanism had presented in response to the Bureau's 18 October 2017 request:

- (i) ICC Governance, Accountability, and Oversight Frameworks- and (informal) IOM Information Paper; and
- (ii) Investigation mandates at the International Criminal Court.

The Bureau decided to keep this issue under review.

b) Resignation of the Head of the IOM

The Bureau began to consider the steps to be taken on an interim basis and on a long-term basis to fill the post of Head of the IOM, in light of the 18 October 2017 resignation of the Head, with effect from 10 December 2017.

Uganda proposed that the Bureau proceed directly to the appointment of the second-ranked candidate who had been placed on a roster at the end of the recruitment process for the Head of the IOM in 2015.

A point was made that it was important to protect the integrity of the recruitment process for any position at the Court, particularly for the Head of the IOM and that it was therefore important to ascertain whether the roster was still valid.

The Bureau decided to continue discussion of the topic at its next meeting.

3. Other matters

a) Oral report of the Bureau

The Bureau approved the oral report of the Bureau, dated 28 November 2017, which the President would present at the first plenary meeting of the sixteenth session under agenda item 10 "Report on the activities of the Bureau".

3