

## PRESIDENCY OF THE ASSEMBLY OF STATES PARTIES

# Commemoration of the twenty-fifth anniversary of the adoption of the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court

### United Nations Headquarters, New York

17 July 2023

#### Programme

# Statements

\*\*\*

Date: Monday, 17 July 2023 Location: Trusteeship Council Chamber, United Nations Headquarters

### 10:00-10:40 OPENING CEREMONY

Presided by Ms. Silvia Fernández de Gurmendi, President, Assembly of States Parties

#### Speakers

Mr. Miguel de Serpa Soares, Under-Secretary-General for Legal Affairs and United Nations Legal Counsel (on behalf of the Secretary-General of the United Nations)

H.E. Ms. Maria Tripodi, Undersecretary of State for Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation (Italy)

Judge Piotr Hofmański, President, International Criminal Court

Institutional video 1998-2022

Speakers

H.E. Mr. Lloyd Axworthy, Former Minister of Foreign Affairs, Canada

Mr. William R. Pace, former Convenor, Coalition for the International Criminal Court

Rome report of the CICC from 15 to 17 July 1998, published in 2018

Ms. Minou Tavárez Mirabal, Chair, Board of Directors of Trust Fund for Victims

English | Español | Français

In Memoriam (video tribute to key figures from Rome who have passed)

# 10:40-12:40 STRATEGIC VISION FOR THE NEXT DECADE: HOW TO ENSURE CONSISTENT AND SUSTAINABLE SUPPORT FOR THE ICC

High-level, in-person Ministerial Roundtable on the strategic vision of the Court for the next decade, open only to Ministerial Level Representatives.

# **STATES PARTIES**

Andorra

Argentina

Austria

Chile

Croatia

Denmark

Finland

France

Germany

Iceland

Ireland

Latvia (on behalf of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania)

Liechtenstein

Luxembourg

Poland

**Portugal** 

<u>Slovakia</u>

Slovenia

South Africa

State of Palestine

Sweden

Switzerland

United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

## **OBSERVER STATES**

<u>Ukraine</u>

### NON-GOVERNMENTAL ORGANIZATIONS

Coalition for the International Criminal Court

Ms. Melinda Reed, Acting Convenor of the Coalition for the International Criminal Court (CICC), on behalf of civil society.

Concluding remarks by Mr. Karim A. A. Khan KC, Prosecutor, International Criminal Court,

### 12:40-13:00 COOPERATION AGREEMENTS AND ANNOUNCEMENTS

\*\*\*

### 13:00-15:00 LUNCH BREAK

\*\*\*

# 15:00-18:00 STRATEGIC VISION FOR THE NEXT DECADE: HOW TO ENSURE CONSISTENT AND SUSTAINABLE SUPPORT FOR THE ICC (cont.)

15:00-15:55

Panel I

### Connecting the dots: Strengthening the international criminal law ecosystem

Moderator H.E. Mr. Robert Keith Rae, Vice-President, Assembly of States Parties

Speakers

- 1. Ms. Catherine Marchi-Uhel, *Head, International, Impartial and Independent* Mechanism on Syria
- 2. Mr. Dapo Akande, Professor, Oxford University
- 3. Ms. Anta Guissé, Counsel for the Defence
- 4. Ms. Ekaterina Trendafilova, former Judge, International Criminal Court

# 16:00-16:55

# Panel II

# Ensuring adequate remedy to victims of Rome Statute Crimes

### Moderator Ms. Deborah Ruiz Verduzco, Executive Director, Secretariat of the Trust Fund for Victims

### Speakers

- 1. Mr. Chang-ho Chung, Judge, International Criminal Court
- 2. Mr. Fabian Salvioli, UN Special Rapporteur on truth, justice and reparation
- 3. Ms. Evelyne Ombeni, Legal Representative of Victims, International Criminal Court
- 4. Ms. Danya Chaikel, Representative to the International Criminal Court,

International Federation for Human Rights (FIDH)

### 17:00-17:50

Panel III

## Strengthening the Rome Statute system: The Review Mechanism and beyond

Moderator Mr. Mark Ellis, Executive Director of the International Bar Association

### Speakers

- 1. H.E. Mr. Paul van den Ijssel, State Party Representative for the Review Mechanism (Netherlands)
- 2. H.E. Mr. Michael Kanu, State Party Representative for the Review Mechanism (Sierra Leone)
- 3. Mr. Osvaldo Zavala Giler, Registrar, International Criminal Court
- 4. Ms. Elizabeth Evenson, Associate Director, Human Rights Watch

# 17:50-18:00 Closing remarks by Ms. Silvia Fernández de Gurmendi, President, Assembly of States Parties

\*\*\*



