

International Criminal Court

Assembly of States Parties

First resumption of the seventh session of the Assembly of States Parties to the Rome Statute

New York, 21 January 2009

ICC-ASP-20090121-PR385-ENG

The first resumption of the seventh session of the Assembly of States Parties to the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court ("the Assembly") opened on 19 January 2009 at United Nations Headquarters in New York. The President of the Assembly, H.E. Mr. Christian Wenaweser, Ambassador of Liechtenstein to the United Nations, opened the session.

At its ninth meeting, the Assembly proceeded to elect the following six judges of the International Criminal Court:

- ALUOCH, Joyce Africa (Kenya), list A, female
- MONAGENG, Sanji Mmasenono Africa (Botswana), list B, female
- SAIGA, Fumiko
 Asia (Japan), list B, female
- SHAHABUDDEEN, Mohamed Group of Latin American and Caribbean States (Guyana), list B, male
- TARFUSSER, Cuno Western European and Other Group (Italy), list A, male
- VAN DEN WYNGAERT, Christine Western European and Other Group (Belgium), list A, female

List A judges have established competence in criminal law, while List B judges have competence in relevant areas of international law, such as international humanitarian as well as human rights law.

The judges were elected for a term of office of nine years that would commence on 11 March 2009. Biographical information on the judges is contained in document ICC-ASP/7/33/Add.1.

Information on the results of the nine rounds of balloting may be found at http://www.icc-cpi.int, under the section of the Assembly of States Parties.