

Assemblée des États Parties

Assembly of States Parties

International Criminal Court

Reference: ICC-ASP/5/SP/44

The Secretariat of the Assembly of States Parties presents its compliments to the Permanent Mission of to the United Nations and, on behalf of the President of the Assembly, has the honour to refer to its notes ICC-ASP/5/S/10, ICC-ASP/5/S/11, ICC-ASP/5/SP/28, ICC-ASP/5/SP/30 and ICC-ASP/5/SP/32, of 5 June, 29 August, 3, 17 and 30 October 2006, respectively, on the nomination and election of the five members of the Board of Directors of the Trust Fund for Victims.

At its 15th meeting, held on 16 May 2006, the Bureau of the Assembly of States Parties decided to open the period for nomination for the second election of members of the Board of Directors of the Trust Fund for Victims, to run from 5 June to 27 August 2006. In accordance with paragraph 4 of resolution ICC-ASP/1/Res.7, the nomination period was extended four times to 19 November 2006. At the end of the nomination period, no candidate had been nominated for the Group of Asian States.

At the 6th meeting of its fifth session, on 30 November 2006, the Assembly proceeded to elect four members of the Board of Directors of the Trust Fund for Victims:

Archbishop Desmond Tutu (African States)

Mr. Tadeusz Mazowiecki (Eastern European States)

Mr. Arthur N.R. Robinson (Group of Latin American and Caribbean States)

Ms. Simone Veil (Western European and other States)

At its 6th meeting, the Assembly decided to defer the election for the seat allocated to the Group of Asian States to the resumed fifth session of the Assembly, to be held at the end of January 2007. Accordingly, the Bureau fixed the nomination period to run from Monday, 1 January to Sunday, 28 January 2007 (Central European Time).

Nominations should be communicated through diplomatic channels to the Secretariat of the Assembly of States Parties, International Criminal Court, Room C-0690, Maanweg 174, 2516 AB The Hague, The Netherlands (or also to fax +31 70 515 8376 or via e-mail to asp@asp.icc-cpi.int). If possible, the Secretariat of the Assembly would appreciate receiving an electronic copy of the nomination and its accompanying documents.

The Hague, 18 December 2006