Bureau of the Assembly

ASP Information - updated at

Decisions of the Bureau 

The Bureau of the Assembly consists of a President, two Vice-Presidents and 18 members elected by the Assembly for three-year terms. The current Bureau assumed its functions at the close of the twenty-second session of the Assembly, on 14 December 2023, and is composed as follows:

Ms. Päivi Kaukoranta (Finland)
Short curriculum vitaeEnglish | Español | Français | عربي

Mr. Michael Imran Kanu (Sierra Leone) 
Ms. Margareta Kassangana (Poland)

Other members of the Bureau:
Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Chile, Cyprus, Ecuador, Finland, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Latvia, New Zealand, Poland, Republic of Korea, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Slovenia, South Africa, Switzerland and Uganda

The Bureau has a representative character, taking into account, in particular, equitable geographical distribution and the adequate representation of the principal legal systems of the world.

The Bureau meets as often as necessary, but at least once a year. It assists the Assembly in the discharge of its responsibilities. Additional information on the Bureau can be found in article 112 of the Rome Statute and rule 29 of the Rules of Procedure of the Assembly of States Parties.

Working Groups of the Bureau       

Pursuant to resolution ICC-ASP/3/Res.8, the Bureau established, on 1 December 2004, two Working Groups of equal standing, one based in The Hague and the other in New York. On 14 February 2006, the Bureau reconstituted its two Working Groups and adopted their terms of reference, which are subject to review by the Bureau. In addition, the Bureau decided that the Working Groups shall be in operation until it decides otherwise.   

Terms of reference of the working groups

Letter from the President of the Assembly concerning the process for the nomination of the future Bureau members and the two Vice-Presidents of the Assembly
17 March 2014 - English | Español | Français 

Composition of the Bureau 2002-2019, including membership of the Credentials Committee - English | Français

Decision by the Bureau on the participation of Observer States in meetings of the Assembly of States Parties 
(18 October 2017) - English | Español | Français | عربي

Decision by the Bureau on the Guidelines for the preparation and conduct of sessions of the Assembly of States Parties and Guidelines and recommendations for enhancing the security of participants in the work of the Assembly
15 November 2018 and amended on 8 September 2021 and 29 September 2023 - English | Español | Français | عربي

Assembly of States Parties