ASP Information - updated at



 Bureau of the Assembly



>> Decisions of the Bureau 

The Bureau of the Assembly consists of a President, two Vice-Presidents and 18 members elected by the Assembly for three-year terms. The current Bureau* assumed its functions at the close of the sixteenth session of the Assembly, on 15 December 2017, and is composed as follows: 

            Mr. O-Gon Kwon (Republic of Korea)
            Mr. Michal Mlynár (Slovakia)
            Other members of the Bureau:
            Argentina, Australia, Austria, Colombia, Côte d’Ivoire, Denmark,
            Ecuador, Estonia, France, Gambia, Ghana, Japan, Mexico,
            Netherlands, Senegal, Serbia, Slovenia, State of Palestine and Uganda

* On 9 March 2018, a Vice-President of the Assembly, Ambassador Momar Diop (Senegal),  informed the Bureau that he would end his posting in The Hague. This took effect on 19 March 2018. On 17 April 2018, the Bureau approved the revised provisional agenda for the seventeenth session of the Assembly, to include the agenda item "Election of a Vice-President" (ICC-ASP/17/Rev.1).

The Bureau has a representative character, taking into account, in particular, equitable geographical distribution and the adequate representation of the principal legal systems of the world.

The Bureau meets as often as necessary, but at least once a year. It assists the Assembly in the discharge of its responsibilities. Additional information on the Bureau can be found in article 112 of the Rome Statute and rule 29 of the Rules of Procedure of the Assembly of States Parties.

Working Groups of the Bureau >>

Pursuant to resolution ICC-ASP/3/Res.8, the Bureau established, on 1 December 2004, two Working Groups of equal standing, one based in The Hague and the other in New York. On 14 February 2006, the Bureau reconstituted its two Working Groups and adopted their terms of reference, which are subject to review by the Bureau. In addition, the Bureau decided that the Working Groups shall be in operation until it decides otherwise.

Letter from the President of the Assembly concerning the process for the nomination of the future Bureau members and the two Vice-Presidents of the Assembly

17 March 2014 - English | Español | Français 

Composition of the Bureau 2002-2018, including membership of the Credentials Committee - English | Français

Decision by the Bureau on the participation of Observer States in meetings of the Assembly of States Parties

18 October 2017 
- English | Espa​ñol | Français | عربي

Source:  Assembly of States Parties