Assembly of States Parties concludes its twentieth session

Press Release
Publishing Date
Reference Number


The Assembly of States Parties to the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court ("the Assembly") held its twentieth session from 6 to 10 December 2021 at the World Forum Convention Center in The Hague. The Assembly was attended by States Parties, observer States, international and regional organizations and representatives of civil society.

The session was chaired by the President of the Assembly, H.E. Ms. Silvia Fernández de Gurmendi. In closing the session, the President stated: "it is quite fitting that we can then conclude our final meeting of an extremely productive session on the 10th of December, when the world commemorates that landmark day when the United Nations General Assembly adopted in 1948 the Universal Declaration of Human Rights at the Palais de Chaillot. This week the 123 States Parties to the Rome Statute system have once more reaffirmed their commitment to continue to defend those same human rights from egregious violations."

The Assembly elected two Deputy Prosecutors: Ms. Nazhat Shameen Khan (Fiji) and Mr. Mame Mandiaye Niang (Senegal), for a nine-year term commencing on the day of their solemn undertaking.

The Assembly also elected nine members of the Advisory Committee on nominations of judges for a three-year term: Mr. Dennis Dominic Adjei (Ghana), Mr. Julian Fernandez (France), Ms. Lucy Muthoni Kambuni (Kenya), Ms. Milica Kolaković-Bojović (Serbia), Mr. Erkki Kourula (Finland), Ms. Sanji Mmasenono Monageng (Botswana), Mr. Mauro Politi (Italy), Mr. Eduardo Rodríguez Veltzé (Bolivia), and Mr. Sang-Hyun Song (Republic of Korea).

The Assembly elected further five members of the Board of Directors of the Trust Fund of Victims for a term of three years: Mr. Sheikh Mohammed Belal (Bangladesh), Mr. Kevin Kelly (Ireland), Mr. Andres Parmas (Estonia), Ms. Minerva Josefina Tarávez Mirabal (Dominican Republic), and Mr. Ibrahim Sorie Yillah (Sierra Leone).

The Assembly held its General debate, which was enriched by the participation of some ministers, international organizations and representatives of civil society. The Assembly held two thematic plenary sessions: one on cooperation and one on the Review of the International Criminal Court and the Rome Statute system. Numerous side events, including many organized by civil society, were also held during the session virtually.

The Assembly adopted five resolutions by consensus on: the programme budget for 2022, cooperation, the Review of the International Criminal Court and the Rome Statute system, the outcome of the work of the Study Group on Governance on recommendations of the Group of Independent Experts, and strengthening the International Criminal Court and the Assembly of States Parties. The Assembly adopted the 2022 programme budget of the Court totalling €154,855,000 and a staffing level of 976.

The twenty-first session of the Assembly will be held from 5 to 10 December 2022 in The Hague.Further information about the session can be found at the website of the Assembly.

For additional information please contact Mr. Woong Kyu Sung at [email protected] / [email protected]

Assembly of States Parties