Presidency of the Assembly holds retreats with the Court officials

Press Release
Publishing Date
Reference Number

PASP Retreat2


The President of the Assembly of States Parties to the Rome Statute (the "Assembly), H.E. Ms. Silvia Fernández de Gurmendi (Argentina) and the two Vice-Presidents of the Assembly, H.E. Mr. Robert Keith Rae (Canada) and H.E. Ms. Kateřina Sequensová (Czech Republic) held two retreats with the three heads of organs and the Presidency of the Court on 18 and 19 March 2022, respectively, in Voorschoten, the Netherlands. Both retreats aimed at deepening understanding for the work of the Court and the Assembly and exchanging views and reflections on ways to strengthen the Rome Statute system at this crucial juncture.

The 18 March retreat was attended by the President of the Court, Judge Piotr Hofmański, the Prosecutor, Mr. Karim A. A. Khan QC, the Registrar, Mr. Peter Lewis, as well as the two Deputy Prosecutors, Mr. Mame Mandiaye Niang and Ms. Nazhat Shameem Khan. It provided an opportunity to exchange views on the priorities for the Court and the Assembly for 2022 and discuss internal and external matters of common interest, including governance and the working culture as well as initiatives to protect the Court and enhance international support and cooperation. There was also a discussion regarding plans for the commemoration of the twentieth anniversary of the entry into force of the Rome Statute in 2022, the twenty-fifth anniversary of the adoption of the Rome Statute in 2023, as well as the ongoing support of the Presidency of the Assembly and States Parties for the Court.

The retreat with the Presidency of the Court on 19 March, attended by President, Judge Piotr Hofmański, First Vice-President, Judge Luz del Carmen Ibáñez Carranza, and Second Vice-President, Judge Antoine Kesia-Mbe Mindua, allowed for an exchange of the views on the key priorities and expectations of the Court and the Assembly as well as to discuss the work of the Court's Presidency and its interaction with the Judiciary.

Assembly of States Parties