ICC - President of the Assembly witnesses solemn undertaking of new judges

Press Release
Publishing Date
Reference Number

On 9 March 2012 the President of the Assembly of States Parties (“the Assembly”), Ambassador Tiina Intelmann, witnessed the solemn undertaking of the five new judges of the Court, which was held in open court, in the presence of the diplomatic community, international organizations and representatives of civil society.

The President, along with the Vice-President of the Assembly and Coordinator of The Hague Working Group, Ambassador Markus Börlin, and the Chair of the Study Group on Governance, Ambassador Pieter de Savornin Lohman, held an informal meeting with 21 of the judges of the Court, including five who were elected in December, to have an exchange of views on how the Assembly and the judges could address the challenges being faced by the Court in the coming year.

The President also held meetings with the Attorney General and Minister of Justice of Nigeria, Mr. Mohammed Bello Adoke, and the Mayor of The Hague, Mr. Jozias van Aartsen.
President Intelmann discussed with the coordinators and facilitators of The Hague Working Group how they would undertake their mandate. She also had a meeting with the representatives of the Group of Latin American and Caribbean States for an exchange of views on the work of the Assembly and how cooperation with the Court could be strengthened. Furthermore, the President met other members of the diplomatic community, senior Court officials and representatives of the ICC Staff Council. 

Statement of the President of the Assembly
Video of the ceremony (YouTube)


For further information on the Assembly of States Parties, please e-mail to [email protected].


Assembly of States Parties