ICC - President of the Assembly visits Hague and witnesses solemn undertaking of new Prosecutor

Press Release
Publishing Date
Reference Number

On 15 June 2012 the President of the Assembly of States Parties (“the Assembly”), Ambassador Tiina Intelmann, witnessed the solemn undertaking of Ms. Fatou Bensouda, the new Prosecutor of the Court, which was held in open court, in the presence of the diplomatic community, international organizations and representatives of civil society.

During her visit from 12 to 15 June, the President also held meetings with senior officials of the Court and members of the diplomatic community, including the Secretary – General of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Netherlands, Mr. Ed Kronenburg, and attended the information session on the 2013 proposed programme budget, organized by the budget facilitator, Ambassador Håkan Emsgård (Sweden).

She also had a meeting with the representatives of States Parties of the Eastern European Group for an exchange of views on the work of the Assembly and how cooperation with the Court could be strengthened.

Furthermore, at the 15 June Bureau meeting she briefed the members on the efforts that had been undertaken in respect of the release of four Court staff detained in Zintan, Libya, since 7 June 2012. The President further recalled her own statement of 12 June, as well as those formulated by the President of the Court on 9 June and by the respective States of nationality of the detained staff members. She also briefed Bureau members about discussions with members of the UN Security Council. In addition, the President briefed the Bureau members on the preparations for the commemoration of the tenth anniversary of the entry into force of the Rome Statute, to be held on 13 and 14 November, prior to the opening of the annual session of the Assembly, as well as on her recent visits to Cairo, Rabat and Addis Ababa.

ICC Prosecutor Fatou Bensouda’s speech
English, Français

Video of the ceremony (YouTube) 

Press release (ICC staff detained)

For further information on the Assembly of States Parties, please e-mail to [email protected].

Assembly of States Parties