ICC - Assembly of States Parties elects four members of the Board of Directors of the Trust Fund for Victims

Communiqué de presse
Publishing Date
Reference Number

At the 6th meeting, on 30 November 2006, of the fifth session of the Assembly of States Parties to the Rome Statute of the International Criminal Court (“the Assembly”), the Assembly re-elected four members of the Board of Directors of the Trust Fund for Victims:

Archbishop Desmond Tutu (South Africa),
Mr. Tadeusz Mazowiecki (Poland),
Mr. Arthur N.R. Robinson (Trinidad and Tobago) and
Ms. Simone Veil (France). 

The Assembly elected one member each from the Group of African States, the Group of Eastern European States, the Group of Latin American and Caribbean States, and the Group of Western European and Other States by acclamation. The term of office of three years begins to run for each member of the Board from 1 December 2006. Members will serve in an individual capacity and on a pro bono basis.

As no candidate had been nominated for the Group of Asian States, the Assembly decided to defer the election for the seat allocated to this regional Group to the resumed fifth session of the Assembly, to be held at the end of January 2007 at United Nations Headquarters in New York.

The Board of Directors of the Trust Fund for Victims was established in 2003 for the benefit of victims of crimes within the jurisdiction of the International Criminal Court, and of the families of such victims, as mandated by article 79 of the Rome Statute. Requirements for election include impartiality, integrity, competence in the assistance to victims of serious crimes and being of high moral character.

Assemblée des États Parties