ICC - Dixième session de l'Assemblée des États Parties de la Cour pénale internationale

Avis aux médias
Publishing Date
Reference Number

The Assembly of States Parties of the International Criminal Court (“the Assembly”) will hold its tenth session at the United Nation Headquarters in New York from 12 to 21 December 2011.

The tenth session will be marked by elections, which will significantly change the composition of the Court. The Assembly will elect a new President of the Assembly of States Parties for the tenth to twelfth sessions (2011 – 2013). Ambassador Tiina Intelmann (Estonia), was recommended for the post by the Bureau in July. She will replace Ambassador Christian Wenaweser (Liechtenstein).

The Assembly will further elect the Prosecutor who shall hold office for a term of up to nine years and shall not be eligible for re-election. As mandated by the Rome Statute, every effort shall be made to elect the Prosecutor by consensus. The four shortlisted candidates recommended by the Prosecutor Search Committee are: Ms. Fatou Bensouda (Gambia), Mr. Andrew T. Cayley (United Kingdom), Mr. Mohamed Chande Othman (United Republic of Tanzania), and Mr. Robert Petit (Canada).

After informal consultations among States Parties, it was decided to narrow the list to two candidates: Ms. Fatou Bensouda (Gambia) and Mr. Mohamed Chande Othman (United Republic of Tanzania). At the 1 December informal consultations, to be held in New York, States Parties will see if there is consensus on one candidate.

In addition, the Assembly will elect six new judges out of 19 nominated candidates who will serve non-renewable terms of nine years. The Assembly will also elect two Vice-Presidents of the Assembly, 18 new members of the Bureau, and six members of the Committee on Budget and Finance.

At the tenth session, the Assembly will, in addition, consider, inter alia, the 2012 budget of the Court and the premises of the Court.

Further information about the tenth session of the Assembly can be found on the website of the International Criminal Court at:

All journalists wishing to cover the session and related events should refer to guidelines for media access, which can be found at:

For additional information please contact Ms. Estera Luteranova at +1 646 591 8218 or via email at [email protected].

Assemblée des États Parties