ICC - 21 States now party to the Agreement on the Privileges and immunities of the ICC (APIC)

Press Release
Publishing Date
Reference Number

Croatia, Latvia, Lithuania and Sweden the latest States to have ratified the Agreement.

Croatia (17 December 2004), Latvia (23 December 2004), Lithuania (30 December 2004) and Sweden (13 January 2005) are the latest States to have ratified the Agreement on Privileges and Immunities of the International Criminal Court (APIC) during December 2004 and January 2005.

This brings to 21 the number of States who are party to the Agreement.  Austria, Canada, Croatia, Estonia, Germany, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, Mali, Namibia, New Zealand, Norway, Panama, Serbia and Montenegro, Slovakia, Slovenia, Sweden and Trinidad and Tobago have ratified the Agreement. Finland is party to the Agreement through acceptance, France through approval  and Liechtenstein through accession.

In total, 62 States have signed the Agreement.

To download the APIC (.pdf), click here


The Agreement on Privileges and immunities of the International Criminal Court, deposited with the Secretary-General of the United Nations, was adopted on 9 September 2002 during the first session of the Assembly of States Parties. The APIC entered into force on 22 July 2004. 

For more information, please see the series Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General, that consolidates all information on the Agreement (i.e.,signatures, ratifications, accessions, miscellaneous notifications).